The BBC win big at RTS Awards

by | Mar 21, 2017 | All, TV News

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain’s leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of the RTS Programme Awards 2017

The RTS Programme Awards, which are chaired by The Foundry CEO, Alex Mahon, honour excellence across all genres of television programming and recognise exceptional actors, presenters, writers and production teams as well as the programmes themselves.

The BBC scooped 13 awards including the newly introduced RTS Channel of the Year Award for BBC Three. The channel’s shows and talent were also recognised in a number of other categories. Fleabag writer and star, Phoebe Waller-Bridge received the Breakthrough Award and also picked up the prize in the Writer – Comedy category. Asim Chaudhry won the Comedy Performance Award for his role in People Just Do Nothing and the series also won for Scripted Comedy; while the Single Drama award went to Murdered By My Father.

Sophie Okonedo fought off competition from Julie Walters and Jodie Comer to win the Actor (Female) Award for her role in BBC One drama Undercover. The channel’s Happy Valley also picked up the award for Drama Series while the show’s writer Sally Wainwright collected the coveted Writer – Drama award. Sally Wainwright also received the Judges’ Award for being a writer of outstanding distinction, having created some of the finest dramatic television on British screens of the last few years.

Channel 4 picked-up nine awards at the event. Robbie Coltrane received the Actor (Male) award for his role in National Treasure and the drama also won in the Mini-Series category. Grayson Perry received two awards for the channel’s Grayson Perry All Man series, in the Presenter and Arts categories, while Adam Hills, Alex Brooker and Josh Widdicombe took home the Entertainment Performance award for The Last Leg. Other awards collected by the channel included Daytime Programme for Find It, Fix It, Flog It; Live Event for Stand Up to Cancer; Science and Natural History for First Contact: Lost Tribe of the Amazon and Sports Programme for Rio Paralympics.

ITV’s Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway won in the Entertainment category; while Emmerdale was triumphant for a second consecutive year in the Soap and Continuing Drama category.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Julie Walters, recognising her outstanding work in a glittering career on television.

Other winning programmes included: The Murder of Sadie Hartley for Single Documentary and The Aberfan Young Wives’ Club for History, both produced for ITV. BBC Two’s Exodus: Our Journey to Europe won in the Single Documentary category, while the channel’s Employable Me won the Popular Factual and Features Award and the Sports Presenter, Commentator or Pundit prize went to Osi Umenyiora for his work on Race to Super Bowl 50, NFL This Week and The NFL Show.

Commenting on the awards, Alex Mahon said: “It has been an outstanding year of broadcasting. I would like to congratulate all of the winners – it is your talent and brilliant work which makes British television excel on a global scale.”

Custard TV Staff

Custard TV Staff


All the latest TV news and TV listings from the staff of the site.


Follow us:

Our Latest Posts:

The BBC confirm second series of Sherwood.

The BBC confirm second series of Sherwood.

As the critically acclaimed Sherwood finishes its much talked about run on the BBC tonight (28 June) it has been confirmed that it will return for a second series with...

Saturday 2nd – Friday 8th July 2022

Saturday 2nd – Friday 8th July 2022

PICKS OF THE WEEK 24 Hours in Police Custody: The Murder of Rikki Neave Monday 4th/Tuesday 5th July Channel 4 Only Murders in the Building Tuesday 5th July Disney+ We...


Submit a Comment